Ideas for how to deter running children and stray cats from your yard

I wasn’t the only one excited when I started a vegetable garden last spring. There were my roommates of course, dreaming of the delicious vegetables they got to eat and I got to grow. There was another somebody though, a quiet reserved somebody, that didn’t lead on to his joy. The garden became the perfect  for my cat and his ‘business’. I can imagine why he was so fond of it after all, soil so soft and loose it was just begging to hide his ‘treasures’. The problem with this is the lack of sanitation that can present itself when in the proximity of food. Since this was a pesky problem that I didn’t expect I ended up having to toss several rounds of radishes and carrots. But not this time, no sir, I’ve done my research and am preparing to win the battle this year. Bring it on Boo Kitty, bring it!

First green idea:

You can plant things to discourage cats, such as geraniumpennyroyal, rue, lavender, garlic, lemon thyme, lemon verbena, and other strongly scented plants. You can also lay chicken wire in your flower beds, as cats dislike like walking on wire. In addition to chicken wire, you can use pine cones, nut shells, and short stakes to discourage cats from walking in your yard; cats also don’t like walking on coffee grounds and eggshells, both of which happen to make great fertilizer.

My personal fav:

Some people find that an automatic sprinkler does the trick when it comes to getting rid of stray cats. Sprinklers can be installed with motion-sensitive detectors which cause the sprinkler to go off when an animal walks by, and they can be moved around so that the animals don’t learn to subvert the sprinkler.

I found this info here.

Leave a Reply

